Partition unallocated space with EaseUS

So after leaving the install to run overnight I was keen to see if the new hard drive worked as expected. After unconnecting the old with the new and placing things where they should be, I rebooted windows and found that everything ran as expected. When I opened explorer I found the partition did not allocate space for the remaining unused portion. Which is expected as the only option for me was an ‘As Is’ clone.

Here is a link to my previous post for reference.

Boot partition showing filled and unallocated space

Boot partition showing filled and unallocated space

Next I went in search of a partition tool, I had heard of partition magic thoughout the years but had never used it. After a quick search I found that all the first search results did not clearly state it was free and was easy to use, so I decided not to pursue it any further. Scouring more through forums and doing searches for the best and most accepted tool, I came across mention of a partition tool called EaseUS, so I gave it a look. Navigating to their website it looked like the right tool for the job, so I downloaded it from here.

For those following, I will now describe the steps I used to expand the original boot drive to use the remaining unallocated space using this tool.

First step after aquiring the software was to install it. I wont go through those step as they are fairly trivial. After the installation I ran the software and was presented with this screen.

EaseUS home screen

EaseUS home screen

To begin the process of extending the main boot partition located on C: I first selected the item label C: and then right mouse clicked, this displayed the following menu options seen below. Resize/Move Partition was the menu item I was interested in.

Resize / Move partition option menu popup

Resize / Move partition option menu popup

Once clicked a new popup was presented.

Resize / Move popup

Resize / Move popup

Using the slider gizmo (light blue circle), slide the control towards the right until the text next to the “Unallocated Space After:” became zero. Alternatively, you could simply type in the number 0 in that text area, I chose to do the earlier option.

Extended partition

Extended partition

Once completed and happy, I then selected OK to return back to the home screen. Visually at this point I thought the process had been completed, however, after checking windows explorer and computer management the partition had not yet changed. So what had it missed? A quick look around, I noticed there was now an apply button waiting to be pressed.

Confirm and apply changes

Confirm and apply changes

Hitting this button did now start the partition process. A few more popups remained, one for shutdown and another for reboot confirmation.

Apply changes and shutdown popup

Apply changes and shutdown popup

Reboot warning popup

Reboot warning popup

After selecting yes, the system proceeded to shut down and reboot. A windows update was also pending either from last nights clone or just windows in general, either way I hoped this wasnt going to upset the partition. I was greeted with the option to cancel prior to windows booting, instead I ignored it and proceeded to continue anyways. I trusted windows 7 stability and was willing to back its performance under any circumstance. In the end I had nothing to worry about and after the partition was extended and rebooted, windows indeed recognised the changes and I did in fact have a full 2.0TB hard drive.

And with that I am now off to download my steam games now. Thanks for reading.

Posted on October 14, 2012, in EaseUS, General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

